

Estrella Mountain Community College vice president is SW Valley Chamber's member of the year

Jul. 2, 2010 04:07 PM Special for The Republic

Nancy L. Brandt, public-relations coordinator for the Southwest Valley Chamber of Commerce, submitted this article. The Southwest Valley Chamber of Commerce named Clay Goodman, vice president of occupational education at Estrella Mountain Community College

, as its 2010 Member of the Year at the annual chamber dinner held at the Wigwam Golf Resort and Spa on June 26.

A former chairman of the chamber's Board of Directors (2008-2009), Goodman used his resources to build a program that has resulted in a win for many - the Business Retention Internship Class.

The chamber's Award of Excellence went to Cassie Wilkins, founder and volunteer director of All Faith Services. In the organization's 14-year history, it has distributed more than 500,000 pounds of food to those in need. The Attic at the White House in Avondale continues to provide a clothing bank, retail store and "dress for success" program for individuals preparing to join the workforce. The recipient of the Award of Excellence is selected by the board of directors. Chamber membership is not a criterion for this award. SCORE counselor Jim Batz also was cited for sharing his expertise with the local business community.

Other awards presented include:

• The Chairman's Award - large business: Lockheed Martin. During the past year, employees of Lockheed Martin have shown its commitment to the community through the "Who Wants to Be An Engineer" Outreach program and their sponsorship of Big Brothers and Big Sisters activities in the Southwest Valley.

• The Chairman's Award - small

business: Arizona Blue Sky Realty. Through careful planning, at a time when other industry companies were closing offices, this company has grown both in physical space and employees causing the Chairman to recognized Dave McIntosh for his entrepreneurial spirit.

• The Chamber's Circle Recognition: Each year the Chamber recognizes corporate members who have chosen to participate at a higher level of involvement. They are: SRP -Platinum; APS - Gold; Meridian Bank - Silver;



Print Powered By FormatDynamics



and McDowell Dentistry - Silver.

Bella Nylander was named the 2010 Ambassador of the Year for her leadership in her committee's goal of reaching out to new members.

Estrella Mountain Community College received the Community Tribute Award for its commitment to being a leader in the community. The college's spirit of service contributed to two signature events created this year: the Business Retention Internship class and Eco Avenue - Going green Southwest Valley style.

Master of Ceremonies Daryl Henning introduced the 2010-2011 Chamber Board of Directors.

Officers are Stephanie Booth, AAA, immediate past chairman; Cliff Loader chair; Ron Heckenburg, SRP - chair elect; Mike Keyack, Lockheed Martin - secretary; and Ruth Enriquez, National Bank treasurer.

Board members are Marisa Benincasa, American Cancer Treatment Center; David Edwards, Luke Air Force Base; JJ Eggers, Arizona Blue Sky Realty; Paul Faith, Faith, Ledyard, Nickel & Shelsky, City of Litchfield Park; Armin Iranshahr, Welcome Home Realty; Janet Kirshbaum, Kirshbaum Income Tax & Accounting; Paul Megallanez, City of Tolleson; and Nancy Nelson, Arizona Trucking Association.

Copyright © 2010, azcentral.com. All rights reserved. Users of this site agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy/Your California Privacy Rights

